The 9-day Festival of Navaratri with its 9 Colors and Significance

Everyone is quite excited as it is Navaratri, the 9-night festival that will be celebrated from September 21 to September 29 this year. During this festive occasion, the Goddess Durga is worshipped in her 9 forms and celebrates the triumph of good over evil. Also, each day has its code color code signifying something.

So, let’s have a glimpse of colors for this Navaratri.

  • Day 1: September 21 Ø Yellow;
  • Day 2: September 22 Ø Green;
  • Day 3: September 23 Ø Gray;
  • Day 4: September 24 Ø Orange;
  • Day 5: September 25 Ø White;
  • Day 6: September 26 Ø Red;
  • Day 7: September 27 Ø Royal Blue;
  • Day 8: September 28 Ø Pink;
  • Day 9: September 29 Ø

The Yellow color of Day 1 is considered to be Planet Sun’s color devoted to Maa Shailputri, the daughter (putri) of the mountains (shaila). It is an opt color to start the festival with as yellow color signifies happiness and energy. The Green color for Day 2 of Navaratri is said to be the color of Planet Venus. Goddess Brahmcharini is dedicated this day who is believed to follow devout austerity.

The Grey color for Day 3 of Navaratri is linked to Planet Saturn and is devoted to Goddess Durga’s third form, Chandraghanta, and is worshipped for prosperity, tranquility, and peace in life. The importance of worshipping Chandraghanta is that she has a half moon (Chandra) on her forehead in the shape of a bell (ghanta).

The Orange color for Day 4 of Navaratri is linked with Planet Jupiter and is said that Goddess Durga in this form becomes the originator of the universe. The White color for Day 5 is linked to the Moon and is dedicated to the 5th form Goddess Durga Images, also recognized as Skanda Mata—mother of Lord Kartikeya (Skanda), who was the gods’ commander-in-chief in the war against the devils. The white color signifies peace, purity, and perfection.

The Red color for Day 6 is associated with Planet Mars and is dedicated to Katyani, Goddess Durga’s 6th form. The Blue color for Day 7 for Navaratri is devoted to Kalratri—7th form of Goddess Durga, and signifies triumph over our bad habits. The Pink color for Day 8 is linked to Planet Mercury and is devoted to Goddess Maha Gauri. The Purple color for Day 9 is said to represent the Mother of all saints, goddesses, and yogis.

Hope all these color brings happiness in your lives. Wish u all Happy Navaratri..!!!